Top 10 Most Centuries in ODI World Cup History

Rohit Sharma (IND) has the Most Centuries in ODI World Cup History. Batting in a tournament like ODI World Cup is not an easy task. There is a lot of pressure to perform at your best. A small mistake can cost a batsman a wicket.

But some batsmen do not succumb to pressure and score huge scores. These batsmen know how to turn their starts into three figures.

In this article, let’s take a look at the top 10 batsmen who have scored the most centuries in ODI World Cup history.

Most Centuries in ODI World Cup History

Rohit Sharma (IND) 17 6 140
Sachin Tendulkar (IND) 44 6 152
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 35 5 124
Ricky Ponting (AUS) 42 5 140*
David Warner (AUS) 18 4 178
Sourav Ganguly (IND) 21 4 183
AB de Villiers (SA) 22 4 162*
Mark Waugh (AUS) 22 4 130
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) 25 4 161*
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) 34 4 115*

Key Stats:

Indian opener Rohit Sharma has scored 5 centuries in a single edition of the World Cup – the most by any batsman. The Hitmen were in great form in the 2019 edition in England. This amazing batsman surpassed Kumar Sangakkara’s record of 4 centuries earlier in 2015.

Also Read: Top 10 India Highest Run Chase in ODI

More than 15 batsmen have scored 3 centuries in this prestigious 50 over tournament.

Sri Lankan great keeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara became the first player to score 4 consecutive centuries in the ODI World Cup. In fact, this is the highest century scored by a player in ODI history.

Sangakkara achieved this amazing feat in the 2015 edition. His 4 centuries are against Bangladesh (105*), England (117*), Australia (104), Scotland (124).

Rohit Sharma came close to equaling Sangakkara’s record but missed out on a century in a memorable semi-final against New Zealand in 2019 when he was dismissed for just 1 run.

He scored consecutive ODI centuries against England (102), Bangladesh (104) and Sri Lanka (103) in the last 3 matches.

IND vs AUS 1st T20I: Pitch report Most Runs in 2023 in All Formats Youngest Captains to Win ODI World Cup Top 5 IPL Performers Who Are Not In Asia Cup 2023 India Squad