Top 6: Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

Shaik Baji
7 Min Read

Here is the list of the top 6 players who scored Most Runs in a Single IPL Season.

Telegram Group Join Now

There was no scope for bowlers in the early stages of the Indian Premier League; It has built its brand on the batsmen’s hitting ability. King Kohli is the highest run scorer in IPL history. Along with Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, and Rohit Sharma, he is at the top of the total runs list.

These top-order batsmen of the Indian team have played together for many years. Batsmen have a valuable contribution and reputation in the T20 format, but there are very few bowlers who have emerged as the batsmen’s strongest influence.

Also Read: List: Most 200+ Scores in IPL by Teams

The IPL has been blessed with many batsmen who have made an impact on the tournament across the globe.

WhatsApp Group Join Now

When it comes to the greatest century makers of IPL, no one can forget ‘Christopher Henry Gayle’ who scored a historic century of 175(66) with an amazing strike rate of 265, followed by Brendon McCullum’s 158( 73). ) and AB de Villiers 133*(59).

All these three have excelled in their IPL career. But, compared to these flamboyant lads, Orange Cap winners have a different level of consistency over a season.

Top 6: Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

1Virat Kohli973IPL 2016
2Shubhaman Gill890IPL 2023
3Jos Buttler863IPL 2022
4David Warner848IPL 2016
5Kane Williamson735IPL 2018
6Chris Gayle / Mike Hussey733IPL 2012 / IPL 2013
Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

6 Chris Gayle – 733 runs (IPL 2012) / Mike Hussey – 733 runs (IPL 2013)

Gayle Storm’s peak came in 2012, when she held the Orange Cap after scoring 733 runs in just 15 matches. In that edition, Chris Gayle’s brutal aggression against several teams like KXIP, RR and KKR came to the fore. The following year he scored a massive and historic century of 175*(66) against Pune Warriors India.

‘Mr’ ‘Cricket’, Mike Hussey is the first Australian in the list of highest run-scorers. Australians usually lead in such records and statistics, but the equation of the game in the Indian Premier League has changed more than any other country in the world. He played 59 matches in the IPL and scored 1977 runs at an impressive average of 39.

Also Read: Most Runs while Batting First in IPL

Chennai Super Kings are very lucky to have him in the opening slot; He has played important and match-winning innings for them throughout his career. In 2013, Hussey scored 733 runs in 17 innings to equal Chris Gayle’s score of the previous year.

5 Kane Williamson – 735 runs (IPL 2018)

Kane ‘Consistent’ Williamson is the next asset in this list, an ‘asset’ that the SRH team calls him as the team’s banker. Kane scored 735 runs in 17 matches in 2018. He scored three consecutive fifties that season, which ultimately defined his dedication to the game. His case is also very similar to that of Virat Kohli; He took SRH to the final of IPL 2018, but lost to Chennai Super Kings.

Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

4 David Warner – 848 runs (IPL 2016)

David Warner is the player who has won the most orange cap in all seasons of IPL. He holds the record of winning the cap 3 times (2015, 2017, 2019) in his career, while Chris Gayle won the cap in two consecutive seasons.

Also Read: MS Dhoni IPL Stats 2024- Price, Runs, Age, Century, Record, Captaincy & Retirement

David scored 848 runs in 17 matches in 2016 but lost his cap to Virat that year. However, he took SRH to the playoffs for the fourth time in a row and won the IPL championship for the first time. Warner tops the list of players who have scored 500+ runs in multiple IPL seasons.

3 Jos Buttler – 863 runs (IPL 2022)

The English wicketkeeper-batsman ended the 2022 season with the most runs (863) for Rajasthan Royals. He gave them great starts in almost every game and helped his team reach the finals.

This outstanding year included 4 centuries and 4 fifties, all of which came at an extraordinary average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05. He hit 45 sixes that season, one of the top 5 batsmen for most sixes in a season.

2 Shubhaman Gill – 890 runs (IPL 2023)

2023 has been a special year for Shubman Gill, who has made scoring runs in international cricket look easy against some of the premier bowling attacks. He ensured that his team Gujarat Titans continued the same form in the IPL this year.

Also Read: Top 10 Lowest Team Totals In IPL History

Gill, who started the tournament with a valuable innings of 63 off 36 balls against CSK in the first match of the tournament, peaked towards the end of the tournament by scoring 3 centuries in 4 matches, including a playoff win over Mumbai Indians. Triple-digit innings are also included.

1 Virat Kohli – 973 runs (IPL 2016)

Virat Kohli cemented his position at number 1 on the list by scoring the most runs in a season. He scored 973 runs in 16 matches in IPL 2016 edition and created a record. He also scored 4 tons that season, a record; No one before him has shown such dominance with the bat in the IPL. He helped RCB reach the final but could not win the trophy as SRH played as a spoiler in that game.

Telegram Group Join Now
Share This Article
Passionate web developer 🖥️ | Creative content creator 🎨 | Turning ideas into digital reality 💡 | Constantly coding, designing, and exploring the digital landscape 🚀 | Let's build something amazing together