The Top 10 Most Popular Cricket Tournaments Right Now

Shaik Baji
9 Min Read

In this article, we are going to discuss the Most Popular Cricket Tournaments right now. Cricket is considered one of the most exciting sports by fans worldwide. Every cricket match, every cricket craze, irrespective of the format, attracts huge audiences in the country. People are flocking to this game in large numbers even in countries where it was not popular before. With the advent of many tournaments, the popularity of cricket remains limited.

Telegram Group Join Now

In this article, we are going to discuss various cricket events that are popular right now. These cricket events played an important role in taking the game to a different level. However, the level of excitement varies from tournament to tournament. Whether it’s a 50-over tournament, a Test series or a T20, preparation for all events is always impressive. We are now taking a look at ten popular cricket tournaments.

  1. ICC Cricket World Cup (50 Overs)
  2. T20 World Cup
  3. IPL (Indian Premier League)
  4. Ashes series
  5. Caribbean Premier League
  6. NatWest T20 Blast
  7. Asia Cup
  8. Australian Big Bash League (Men & Women)
  9. ICC Champions Trophy
  10. Border Gavaskar Trophy

10) Border Gavaskar Trophy

The Border Gavaskar Trophy is considered to be one of the most entertaining contests between two of the best teams. The series began in the 1996–97 season. The Indian team has been successful since the concept of this series started. It is a three-match or four-match Test series. It is named after two great men from two countries – Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border.

Read: Border Gavaskar Trophy Complete stats

9) ICC Champions Trophy

The event was started in 1998 as the first edition was played in Bangladesh, the tournament was won by South Africa. The first two editions were played on a knockout basis, but later teams were placed into two groups.

WhatsApp Group Join Now

Australia won the competition twice (2006 and 2009), while India won in 2013 and were joint winners with Sri Lanka in 2002. West Indies won the 2004 event. The Champions Trophy attracts a lot of spectators because it is like a mini World Cup.

Most Popular Cricket Tournaments

8) Australian Big Bash League (Men & Women)

The Big Bash League has gained popularity over the years. The first edition of the Men’s Big Bash League started in 2011, while the women’s event started in 2015. Eight teams will participate in the competition. In the women’s category, Sydney Thunder, Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat have won the tournament twice each. In the men’s category, the Perth Scorchers have won the tournament four times, while the Sydney Sixers have won it three times.

7) Asia Cup

The first edition of the Asia Cup was held in Sharjah in 1984. Asian Cricket Council (ACC) is the main organizing body of this event. The tournament has seen some interesting contests over the years. Only four teams (India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh) played in this event.

Teams like Afghanistan, Hong Kong, and UAE have been part of this tournament since the last 5-6 editions. Afghanistan is a strong contender in competing against the big teams. These matches will be played in 50 overs and T20 formats. India has won 7 times in this tournament, while Sri Lanka and Pakistan have won 6 and 2 times respectively.

You can check edition-wise champions of the Asia Cup in this article.

6) NatWest T20 Blast

The oldest T20 league in the world was started by the England and Wales Cricket Board in 2003 and the recently concluded 2022 edition is the 20th edition. The league has gained tremendous popularity over the years. It has helped players from all over the world adapt to the tough English conditions both technically and naturally. Hampshire have won the tournament three times, while Leicestershire Foxes have also won it three times.

5) Caribbean Premier League

The Caribbean Premier League is getting a lot of interest from fans from different parts of the world. A CPL game draws huge crowds on any given day. The event is organized by WICB (West Indies Cricket Board). This year, the 10th edition of the tournament will begin in 2022.

Calypso glitz and glamor are seen in this tournament where players from Caribbean countries and other countries are playing cricket in fearless style. Six teams will participate in this event. Trinbago Knight Riders have won the title 4 times while Jamaica Tallahassee has won the tournament four times.

Also Read: Most Runs in 2023 in All Formats Combined [ODI, T20, Test]

4) Ashes series

The Test series traditionally played between England and Australia is one of the most interesting battles between two of world cricket’s oldest rivals. The Ashes series is watched by billions of fans across the globe, irrespective of their nationality. The match was so intense that in many cases the stadiums were packed even though it was a weekday.

The Ashes began in 1882-83. 72 Ashes series have been played so far, of which Australia has won the competition 34 times, England 32 times and the series has been drawn six times.

The history of the Ashes series along with its complete statistics is here for you.

3) IPL (Indian Premier League)

Undoubtedly IPL is one of the richest cricket events which attracts a huge number of fans from all over the world. Every season the tournament is growing financially and in terms of the quality of cricket played. It has given a platform to many budding players from all over the world including Indian players to make their mark.

IPL is an event full of fun and drama, with huge numbers of fans cheering for their favorite teams. The Indian Franchise League provided huge financial benefits to the BCCI, which indirectly helped the ICC to improve the overall quality of cricket in countries where cricket was not popular earlier. The tournament started in 2008 and 15 editions have been played to date. Mumbai Indians have won the tournament 5 times while Chennai Super Kings have won the tournament 4 times.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Top 5 IPL Performers Who Are Not Included In India Squad

2) T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup has been one of the people’s favorite international cricket events since its inception in 2007 in South Africa. Any T20 World Cup match has seen a huge crowd, even if it is a contest between lesser-known teams.

TRP in the T20 World Cup is at an all-time high. West Indies won the competition twice in 2012 and 2016.

1) ICC Cricket World Cup (50 Overs)

One of the oldest cricket events, the ICC Limited Overs World Cup T20 has gained popularity despite its arrival. The prize money has increased in the last few editions of the Limited Overs World Cup. Its popularity is also due to the equal competition between bat and ball.

England hosted the first edition in 1975; Since then, the event has grown to billions of followers. The next edition will be played in India in 2023. Australia has won the tournament five times (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015). West Indies twice (1975 and 1979).

Telegram Group Join Now
Share This Article
Passionate web developer 🖥️ | Creative content creator 🎨 | Turning ideas into digital reality 💡 | Constantly coding, designing, and exploring the digital landscape 🚀 | Let's build something amazing together