Youngest Captains in IPL History

Shaik Baji
5 Min Read

In this article, we are going to see top 5 Youngest Captains in IPL History

Telegram Group Join Now

T20 cricket typically favours younger players, and this trend is evident even within tournaments like the IPL. IPL franchises actively seek out talented youngsters who not only excel in batting and bowling but also demonstrate leadership potential. This emphasis on youthful leadership not only enhances team dynamics but also attracts enthusiasts engaged in online IPL betting.

In this article, we delve into the journeys of the five youngest IPL captains, some of whom have transformed from promising youngsters to cricket superstars. Let’s explore their ascension and understand why franchises entrusted them with leadership roles.

Top 5 Youngest Captains in IPL History

List of Players and Age When Named Skipper
1.Virat KohliRCB22 years, 4 months and 6 days
2.Steve SmithPWI22 years, 11 months and 9 days
3.Shreyas IyerDC23 years, 3 months and 21 days
4.Suresh RainaCSK23 years, 3 months and 22 days
5.Rishabh PantDC23 years, 6 months and 6 days

Youngest Captains in IPL History:

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli At 22 years and 4 months, Virat Kohli became the youngest captain in IPL history for Royal Challengers Bangalore during the 2011 season. He initially filled in for Daniel Vettori’s absence and later took over as the full-time skipper in 2013. Kohli led RCB in 140 games, securing victories in 64 matches while facing defeat in 69.

Also Read: Nicholas Pooran IPL Stats 2023 : Price, Runs, Age, Century, Salary, Team

WhatsApp Group Join Now

Steve Smith

Steve Smith became the second-youngest skipper in IPL history, leading the Pune Warriors India in the 2012 season at the age of 22 years and 11 months. His tenure as captain extended to teams like Rajasthan Royals and the Rising Pune Supergiants.

Latest Posts

Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer assumed the permanent captaincy of the Delhi Daredevils at 23 years, 3 months, and 21 days old during the 2018 season. He took over mid-season from Gautam Gambhir and led the team to the eliminator and finals in the 2019 and 2020 IPL seasons, respectively. His stint with Kolkata Knight Riders in 2021 was hampered by a shoulder injury.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina Although never a permanent skipper, Suresh Raina led CSK once in the absence of MS Dhoni during the 2010 season as the vice-captain. His influential 49-run innings guided CSK to victory against Delhi Daredevils. Later, as captain of the Gujarat Lions in 2016, Raina led the team to the playoffs but missed out on reaching the final.

Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant took over captaincy for the 2021 IPL season at 23 years and 6 months old after Shreyas Iyer moved to KKR. Pant led his team to the semifinals in 2022 but faced challenges in the subsequent year, finishing fifth. Unfortunately, a life-threatening accident sidelined him from leading in the 2023 season.

Conclusion of Youngest Captains in IPL History:

Becoming a young captain in the IPL often marks the onset of greatness. Examples like Kohli, Smith, and Iyer show remarkable growth in their gameplay and leadership over the years. However, contrasting styles of batting and leadership are evident among these young captains, as seen with Pant’s flamboyance and others’ varying approaches.

Suresh Raina stands out as an exception, as he didn’t get an extended captaincy stint until his tenure with the Gujarat Lions, spanning two IPL seasons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the youngest captain to win the IPL?

Rohit Sharma is the youngest captain to win IPL trophy.

Who is the youngest captain in IPL history?

Virat Kohli is the youngest captain in IPL history

Telegram Group Join Now
Share This Article
Passionate web developer 🖥️ | Creative content creator 🎨 | Turning ideas into digital reality 💡 | Constantly coding, designing, and exploring the digital landscape 🚀 | Let's build something amazing together